Local Government North Yorkshire and York

1 July 2022

Nominations to Outside Bodies

Report of the Honorary Secretary

1.0 Purpose of the Report

1.1 To invite nominations to outside bodies, to serve for the forthcoming year.

2.0 Nominations Sought

2.1 Nominations are sought for appointment to the following outside bodies, to serve for 2022/23. Members who served in these positions during 2021/22 are identified in the following.

(a) European Structural and Investment Funds Sub-Committee

2021/22 Representatives:-

- 1. From the City of York Council Former Councillor Darryl Smalley
- 2. From North Yorkshire County Council Councillor Andrew Lee
- 3. From the 7 District Councils Councillor Stephen Arnold (Ryedale)

2021/22 Substitutes:-

- 1. From the City of York Council Cllr Andrew Waller
- 2. From North Yorkshire County Council Councillor Carl Les
- 3. From the 7 District Councils Cllr Dinah Keal (Ryedale)

(b) North Yorkshire Pension Fund Committee – District Councils' Substitute

2021/22 Substitute:- Councillor Angie Dale (Richmondshire)

Note: Following a call for nominations by email, Craven District Councillor Patrick Mulligan was nominated and appointed as the District Councils' representative on the North Yorkshire Pension Fund Committee for 2022/23.

(c) York and North Yorkshire LEP Board – District Councils' Representation

2021/22 Representatives:-

- Councillor Mark Crane (Selby District Council) representing the Leaders of Craven District, Harrogate Borough and Selby District Councils.
- Councillor Mark Robson (Hambleton District Council) representing the Leaders of Ryedale, Hambleton and Richmondshire District areas.

Substitutes: Not permitted. However, with the Chair's prior permission, observers may attend in the absence of a Representative. Where the Representative represents several District Councils, the observer should be a District Council Leader rather than a Deputy Leader.

Note: The LEP's Constitution specifies that the Leaders of the following Councils are Members of the LEP Board:- North Yorkshire, York and Scarborough. There is no requirement for LGNYY to confirm these nominations.

(d) Yorkshire and Humber Strategic Migration Group

There are four positions on this Group, each of which may be filled either by an Elected Member or, in the absence of such a nomination, an officer.

2021/22 Representatives:-

- 1. Neil Irving (NYCC's Assistant Director (Policy, Partnerships and Communities))
- 2. Ann-Marie Douglas (City of York Council's Temporary Accommodation Manager)

2021/22 Substitute, to attend in the absence of either Neil Irving or Ann-Marie Douglas:-

- 1. Jonathan Spencer (NYCC's Corporate Development Officer who is project managing the refugee resettlement)
- 2. 2nd Substitute: Vacancy.

(e) Yorkshire and North Yorkshire Vice-Chair of the Yorkshire and Humber Climate Commission

2021/22 Vice-Chair:- Councillor Richard Cooper (Harrogate)

2021/22 Substitute:- Councillor Keith Aspden (City of York)

(f) North Yorkshire Health and Wellbeing Board – District Councils' Representation

2021/22 Representative:- Councillor Richard Foster (Craven District Council)

3.0 Recommendations

3.1 That Members be nominated at today's meeting, to serve for the forthcoming year on the outside bodies listed at paragraph 2.1.

Richard Flinton Honorary Secretary Local Government North Yorkshire and York

Author of report: Ruth Gladstone (Principal Democratic Services Officer, North Yorkshire County Council). Email: Ruth.Gladstone@northyorks.gov.uk